Art is Money - Project

- open for all to see, wherever you may be
markuspetz
Viesti:

Art is Money - Project

Viesti Kirjoittaja markuspetz »

http://mailcamp.eu/demo/link.php?M=7086 ... &L=915&F=H

Hello

My name is Dadara. I am an artist from Amsterdam and am currently working on a project, which questions the value(s) of Art and Money by using the mechanism of an alternative currency.
Don't worry. You won't get on any e-mailing list - this a one off email trying to get connected to the Alternative/Local Currency scene and hopefully we could help and learn from each other!

If you don't want to be bothered with a lot of text, here's a 90 seconds trailer of the project , otherwise please read the brief explanation below:

I started a new bank - the Exchanghibition Bank - in times when governments spend billions on preventing banks from falling, but those same governments are cutting back drastically on the Arts. A project which raises questions about the value(s) of Art and Money. The bank already has popped up at various spots in Amsterdam. In cultural venues, such as Paradiso and Nuit Blanche, but we also did some guerilla banking in the main hall of Amsterdam Central Station, where visitors could exchange their euros for our banknotes of Zero or One Million. Recently we introduced our new banknote - the Infinite one - and presented the very first banknote to Larry Harvey, founder of Burning Man, based on a gift-economy where money doesn't exist. And we did that in a shoppingcenter, which seems rather based on shop-till-you-drop.....

And now we have returned from the Nevada desert with our bank, where our customers could get a Zero banknote gifted in exchange for realizing the power money has the other 51 weeks of the year and promising to realize that every time they use money they'll think about what they are giving back to the world and to make it official they had to sign a Spiritual Karma Laundering Contract.